My happenings this week

Uni

This week in Networked Media Production was an introduction to HTML and CSS.  It wasn’t that hard to grasp what was talked about, but that was probably because I have done most of it before, it just happens to be several years ago, so i have to drag it out of the back cupboard of my mind and blow off the dust.

I was impressed how CSS can turn a plain boring web page into an attractive and usable site. I guess its one of many tools in a web developers tool box. The days of simple HTML web pages are long gone now. I see the edit CSS feature on this blog, and i’m tempted to experiment with it in the near future. I’ve had a quick look at the Style Sheet for the page currently, and i’m fairly confident i can work thur it to make my blog much more personalised, so stay tuned in the near future

Macs

Equally interesting and informative in these first few tutorials is learning how to use the Macs. its not that hard really, just different. Its probably a little easier for me as I’ve used a couple of Macs in my past, but some things haven’t changed much since almost the beginnings of Apple Macs

Linux

Now, Speaking of using different Computers and operating systems, I thought I would mention I’m writing this from a PC Ubuntu Linux. a few months ago, I finally made the decision to install Linux and use it as my full time OS. I still have windows up and running, but only boot to it when i have to. For some things, you really do need windows still. I use windows for editing video, as I’m yet to find something really acceptable for Linux.

The Blog

Now, you may notice my blog has undergone a few cosmetic changes. I’m trying out new things, and i hope to end up with a good looking, functional blog, with other sites integrated into the page.If you’ve been here before, you may notice the overall colour scheme has changed a fair bit.This was done as my original scheme Looked a bit generic, and had no side bar for Widgets such as my blogroll and my Flickr Photo stream, which you will now notice on the right side of page.

So, that’s it for now. I’m still working on spicing up my blogs a bit, I know all the text with no pretty pictures can be a chore, but hang in there!

Matt Out

One thought on “My happenings this week

  1. Great site this diydata.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

