ATX Benchtop Power Supply Mod

So, this project was for my slowly expanding Electronics work bench. Under my house i have a bunch of old computers, most pretty much useless these days.
After browsing the web, I came across a couple of websites that showed how to convert an ATX computer power supply to a very handy general purpose power supply, Supplying 12v and 5v at fairly high amps, so i printed off a couple of the web pages, and on the weekend, i got to work.

All in all, the mod is fairly easy, and really consists of cutting and soldering, there are no real modifications to the internals of the unit, and it is actually possible to do the mod without even opening the unit if you wanted to put it in some other kind of box.

So, i have some photos of the powersupply in various stages of completion. I’m still working on remembering / being bothered to take step my step photos of my projects progress, but this is better then nothing. The websites with the tutorials are pretty well documented, so there is no real need for me to be super detailed in my documentation

This shot is a overview of my half completed power supply.

an overlook of the mod in progress

an overlook of the mod in progress

This is a picture of the 10 Watt 10 Ohm resistor, stuck to the case with thermal tape

This is a picture of the 10 ohm load resistor

This is a picture of the 10 ohm load resistor

Here is a close up of the completed power supply. I am yet to label up the unit up more permananly then the pencil i scribbled on it with. You can kind of notice the 3 positive terminals aren’t as lined up and neat as I would have liked, but its functional, and practice makes perfect

The completed power supply

The completed power supply

And this is is the power supply sitting on my work bench. The bench is new, and I am still sorting it out (and probably always will be)

the Power supply on my work bench

the Power supply on my work bench

One thought on “ATX Benchtop Power Supply Mod

  1. Fantastic page,, Will visit once more..

Leave a Reply

