Train modelling off and running (mega train post)

As you would realise from my previous posts, my model railroading has begun, in a small way.

Well, before christmas, I was at tool / hobby store again . While I was there, I realised they were selling off some bits and pieces cheap, I mean real cheap.

I spent at least half an hour, maybe more digging through a box of HO scale track, looking for straight pieces, and sets of curves

If you go by the price stickers on the track, I bought over $300 worth of train track ($2 a piece, for 150 pieces), and was charged $10 for that. It should have been $15, as they were supposed to be 10c each, but I wasn’t complaining.

While I was there,I also picked up a length of flexi track to have a play around with.

Most of the 150 pieces of track. I had already used some when the photo was taken

So, beginning that night, I spent the weekend progressively expanding my railway. Beginning by expanding the loop around the tree to a long stretch past the front of the TV.

Here we can see the expansion of the main line. Now stretching past the TV. It wasn't long before this wasn't far enough.

And then expanding that back towards the tree in another long run. I also extended the other end out past the coat rack near our doorway. I was particularly chuffed when I managed to integrate one of the track crossing pieces, and it worked!

Full size. This is as it stands at the peak of the layout.

Over the weekend, Diana and I made the trip back to the hobby store. We were originally seeking farm animals and such at a different store near by. We didn’t leave with more train track this time, but Diana surprised me, and bought me a new train for me:

The new train. YAY!

This train is a whole other ball game compared to the first one. Its quieter. it runs slower and a lot more realistically. It runs a bit better, due to the fact it picks up power from all wheels at once. It’s very nice!

I thought I had enough track for a life time, but I was already wishing I bought more. I have enough to make a nice long single track, but what if I wanted to add a second track along side the first? the box of train track was taunting me. I needed more. I would never get another opportunity to get train track for so cheap.

The thursday before christmas was payday, and eventually the hobby store got the better of me.
I took the long way to work that morning and got another bunch of track. This time, there were less straight pieces (I got most of those last time), and same with the smaller radius curves. I got what I could find, which included a bunch of the larger radius curves, most with the power clips attached. When I got the new train engine, it hits the power clips, so I usually just pull them off. you don’t really need them on EVERY piece of track.

The total haul. thats a lot of track!

As pictured above, I have rather a large amount of track. Each stack of curves with rubber bands is a complete loop of track. there should be all up, about 300 pieces of track. By my count, that’s about $600 worth of track if you take the sticker price of it, all for about $30. That is obscenely cheap!

I’ve begun my small double loop for under the christmas tree next year! so look out for that in future updates.

I’m also going to upload some photos to flickr of my trains. feel free to have a look

One thought on “Train modelling off and running (mega train post)

  1. Hi
    This was a lucky Christmas. Do you build your layout only during Christmas time?

Leave a comment